Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Day 11 - Paradise valley Cafe

    12 Mayıs 2023, Amerika Birleşik Devletleri ⋅ 🌙 64 °F

    Miles hiked: 16
    Elevation: 2772
    Campsite location: behind paradise valley Cafe 😂
    Weather: sunny and high 80s
    One word to describe the day: 🥵🍔

    Today was a great day. It was hot but beautiful desert landscape. I saw my first rattlesnake. I nearly stepped on it and it almost gave me a heart attack. I backed up quickly and waited for a few minutes to see if it would move, but it didn't. So I lately tossed a pebble near it and it didn't do anything. Eventually I saw it's tongue move so I knew it was alive. It seemed like it was very lethargic. It never shook its tail or seem agressive. Eventually it's slowly moved off the trail and I ran quickly by it.

    It was another long water carry today. We camped near water that smelled like eggs and also tasted like them. Luckily there is a trail angel in the stretch that provides water. But unfortunately this will be her last year. I think she's pretty old. Thank you Mary! After Mary's I hiked seven more miles to get to Paradise valley Cafe. I saw a gentleman dropping off hikers at the trailhead and asked him if I could get a ride to Paradise valley Cafe. His name was Rob Muir. John muir is his great uncle! He said his uncle had a big part in creating the Pacific Crest trail. He loves helping hikers. What a cool experience! Such a nice guy. Have me guys number in case I needed anymore help.

    I had a cheeseburger, side salad and a drink at pvc. I sent my micro spikes and ice ax to the cafe. They are very hiker friendly. And I'm currently in my tent behind the restaurant which is where I will sleep tonight!
    Okumaya devam et