Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21 - big bear lake 🐻

    May 22, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 63 °F

    Today is town day! We hiked 10 miles into big bear lake. It's a cute mountain town. Big bear resort is right at the base of town.

    When I got to the trailhead I had another easy hitch! Two ladies from orange county were just finishing up a backpacking trip with two other friends who were also hiking the pct. They looked at me and asked if I wanted a ride right away. Easy hitches for the win! They took me and my trail companion Mel into town.

    We are staying at the robinhood resort which is right downtown big bear lake. It's right next to the post office where I picked up some packages Ian sent me. One had some hiking pants. I'm going to give long pants a try. I've been getting weird rashes on my legs, I think from the sun/heat. Along with an extra battery bank.

    We did all the town chores. Laundry, food, resupply, shower, charging. Right now I am sitting at big bear brewing writing this. I'll go out with mel, Caroline and a few others for dinner soon!

    Tomorrow we are back on the trail heading towards hot springs and the infamous on trail McDonald's 😂
    Read more