Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 145

    September 22, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 50 °F

    Miles hiked: 27
    Campsite: 2508
    Weather: 50s and partly cloudy
    One word to describe the day: amazing

    Woke up this morning and it was so cold but I made myself get out of the sleeping bag! Today's hike was so beautiful. I think it may have been my favorite day on trail yet. The mountains are just so pretty in the section and all the leaves are changing! I ran into a hiker I hadn't seen in a while, her name is sunny! She lives in Portland. Was great to see a familiar face!

    I had my first bathroom break on a thunder box, which is essentially an open-aired back country toilet. It was quite lovely 🤪! I guess they're quite popular in the back country of Washington. I've passed a lot of them but it just never worked out to use it!

    I ended up going quite a bit longer than planned because I was feeling good, 27 miles! Felt good to get a long day under my belt again. I've only been doing low '20s since I've been back in Washington. I was grateful for the good weather today. It looks like it may start raining tomorrow and possibly continue into the coming days.
    Read more