Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    A long drive to Mont St Michael

    November 18, 2021 in France ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    We had another quiet night in Wanda, although I didn’t sleep particularly well because my knee has started hurting again after climbing the hills twice to get to petit minou, and to top it off when I went to get the bed stuff down I got a cramp in my shoulder that has now stated in my neck and I have a constant headache. Being on the road 24/7 is catching up with us, but I’m glad I’m doing this at 47 and 67 like most.
    There’s not a lot to report on today. We took a 170 mile drive from Petit Minou to Mont St Michael stopping a little over halfway in an airè for some lunch and arriving here at 3pm.
    We decided in the end to stay in P8 of the Mont St Michael car park. It’s a dedicated layover for motorhomes we’re relatively near although it’s the furthest car park and it’s safe and quiet.
    At 4pm we took the free shuttle on to the island getting there for 4:30pm and already the shops were shutting but it did give me a good chance to photograph the place with no people. Then we decided to walk the bridge back and go to my old shooting spot to get it at night.
    It wasn’t a particularly good evening for it as there was a lot of moisture in the air, it wasn’t dark enough when I started shooting and I wasn’t very happy with the results but I have shot this before so I’m not complaining.
    I also did my first drone night shots which were a disaster as I didn’t have the image review on so randomly taking pictures at a high iso for 3+ seconds didn’t really work. But lesson learnt.
    All in all with walking back we clocked up 6.5 miles which wasn’t good for my knee, and we got back to Wanda at 7:30pm so just through some hash browns in the oven turned the tv on and called it a night. We were both pretty knackered and I spent the rest of the evening working out where we might go tomorrow.
    Because I had to give my dad an end date we had to book a return ticket which is the 25th November, which I wouldn’t have done if I’d known Ben was leaving us. So now we’ve pushed so far up to the top of France we can’t go any further. Originally I’d planned to go to maisy battery but that’s temporarily closed so instead I’ve decided to head down the country towards Paris and hopefully see the Christmas lights. We’ll see what we find inbetween.
    Read more