Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Healing Day

    October 15, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    Obviously after yesterdays accident on the bike I didn’t sleep well. I tried sleeping on my back where I was most comfortable but couldn’t drop off so in the end I slept on my left side with a pillow to rest my knees on to take the weight off my body.
    I woke up at 8am feeling like I had been run over and it took me five minutes to sit up and get on the edge of the bed. This morning Ellie was on Coffee duties and after the first coffee Ellie did a bodge job of putting the bed away so I could sit up on the sofa.
    No sooner was I upright I had to lay down again as I thought I was going to pass out. I put this down to low blood pressure from not breathing properly and not moving. After a 30 minute nap I felt ok and managed some breakfast then I started feeling more with it.
    We had already decided we were stuck here so we settled in for the day and put the TV on and watched the Maxine Carr series on Netflix. Then we went for a short walk and except for my ribs which are probably broken along with my pride, I felt pretty good. My knees are ok, my cut arm and shoulder don’t hurt to much even though the bruising is coming out and I can walk normally albeit a lot slower so it doesn’t change my breathing. On the walk we spotted a Motorhome with some huge black numbers down the side. NCC-1701. I chuckled but Ellie didn’t get it.
    These are the numbers for the starship enterprise from Star Trek and if you look at the side profile of these types of motorhomes they do resemble it. Wanda is the same so future journeys will now be missions and we will boldly go where no Motorhome has gone before.
    Late after came and we went for another short walk and noticed the temperatures dropping rapidly. By 6pm it was just 7°c outside. It’s 18°c inside but does feel cooler so we lit the fire for a little while and then lit our candles in the glass holders so it looks like there’s a fire on. It already feels warmer.
    I’m hoping to be mobile again tomorrow and be able to move on to somewherelse. I’m already bored with being broken and want to go exploring again and try and get my bike fixed somewhere.
    Read more