Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Our First Day Back

    March 19 in South Africa ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    We woke up at 6am. Neither of us had slept very well considering we were in a comfy bed in beautiful surroundings.
    I’d found the duvet to short to come up to my ears which I like covered and also not wide enough that if there were 2 of us in the bed it wouldn’t fall over us and touch the mattress. I also didn’t realise there was a sheet under the duvet until 4am.
    We got up and filled a food bucket full of animal feed and opened the back door. There was just one Kudu waiting for us but within minutes of putting the food down the herd turned up. We had 8 Kudu, 3-4 impala, 10 warthog and with the warthog came the Crested Guinea Fowl. In the back stood the bushbuck and little Diekers. They like the sweet potatoes really but the feed shop is currently out of them.
    Even though we hadn’t had much sleep Ellie fancied a walk and as we were peaking really early today at 8:10am we went for a 6km hike following the fence line of the Kruger and the crocodile river. We found a flat tailed skink down there and lots of Waterbok up against the fence.
    When we got back to the house at 9:30am it was really heating up outside and I decided to use the cuddle puddle in the garden for the first time and it was freezing cold. It was the coldest water I’d felt since we got here and it was so refreshing.
    We didn’t do much with the rest of the morning except watch the animals coming and going in the garden. We both found it very zen like. Then at 2pm I decided we couldn’t sit here all day so we took a drive into Komatipoort to do a little shopping. Getting to the town is easy but once you’re there it’s a hub of activity and even though it is a small place it feels like a city centre, which is daunting as tomorrow we have actually decided to drive to the closest city of Neilspruit, now renamed Mbombela for some reason.
    Back at the house it was now 4:30pm. We had a visit in the garden of a Kudu and her tiny calf that didn’t have a tail yet just some cotton wool placed there instead. Once the mother kudu had eaten some hay and some pellets she just kept washing the baby, that was defiantly worth seeing.
    For dinner I did the Braai as Ellie cocked it up last night and we had burgers and Braai rolls with beetroot, potato salad and coleslaw. It felt like a real Braai we had cooked ourselves, then I set my camera up and Ellie filled the bushbaby food bowl with banana and I waited for the bushbaby to come. Now I knew what to expect I got some great photos and even some video even though I had a Kudu watching me all night with its head through the bars looking for food. At 9pm I called it a night because no matter where I stood the kudu stood in front of me so I gave up trying to get any more pictures of the bushbaby and went to bed.
    Read more