Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Goodbye Taiwan

    August 31, 2016 in Taiwan ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    At Taoyuan airport my trip is ending. Unfortunately I have to say that the airport officials should seriously reconsider their concept. The airport is one of the worst I've seen. Just luxury and other overpriced goods, not enough seats (people sitting on the floor), every gate has another confusing design (there is one in Hello Kitty Style.....hard to see what destination the plane flies to!) and not a single opened café for the waiting passengers. An airport is like a business card....a last impression to the tourists. In the next few years when studying tourism it will be my task to make suggestions to make these places better.
    Taiwan itself surprised me also very much...but in a positive sense. It is not very well known as a tourist destination, but people are very friendly, often good English speakers and willing to help. The landscapes in the north part of the island are spectacular. All in all an underestimated country which is more than worth a visit!! Glad I've been there. Oh, one last thing: don't forget to try taro cake!!! ;-)
    Read more