Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Welder's work

    April 30, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    When other bikers do this project they make the trailer narrower and the drawbar longer. To narrow the frame I took a Sawzall and chop chop done that was easy. To narrow the axle I took it to a welder. (And the tongue too.) When I got the axle back it doesn't seem quite right. I am suspicious it is just a fraction off. Great. That's the whole reason I didn't want some dropout at a muffler shop to weld it. And the tongue now weighs ten times what it did before. Sure, he "overbuilt" it and he dressed the welds very nicely but all that steel is just loading down my trailer with dead weight. Not to mention he charged 2/3 more than the trailer is worth! Well, I learned something new today, just not the kind of lesson I want.

    It's too bad this website won't let you zoom in on the original picture - in the first pic there's detail you can't see on the site. Let's see if another pic will help.
    Read more