Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    A Walk Up into the Hills

    March 9, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 61 °F

    It was time to get to know some of the surrounding neighborhood near my building. Walking south I took a right and began to ascend a long winding road rising at a very steep incline. On its south side were white walled modern homes with high security walls. This was no ordinary neighborhood.
    The road continued up until it reached a plateau and intersection. I went left and continued walking. Each home a modern block interspersed with old traditional structures some well maintained others aging. Wandering and absorbing life in this part of the world. At what do these denizen of Marbella work?
    Streets well maintained and for the most part sidewalks in good condition with some crumbling exceptions. Most importantly dog walkers seem pick up after their pets. I've been to many cities where the people don't seem to care finding sidewalks strewn with "deposits." London come to mind.
    I walked lost in the intertwining streets but knew that down was to the Mediterranean and thereby Marbella center.
    It was now mid-day sunny and warm. I continued on until I had seen enough and started downhill eventually coming to the municipal market where I have been shopping for vegetable and fruit. Not lost at all.
    I made my way to a bench and shade in the historic town center. It was busy with many obvious tourists wandering, cameras in hand, taking selfies, eating at cafes. I found a seat in Plaza de los Naranjos. I really wanted a coffee but had left without my wallet. So now I sat watching others walk as I people watched.
    That evening I met Mar and her husband at a vey popular tapas bar called Lekune. Dinner was set for 8:30. I have come to know the area so finding the restaurant was easy and not far from my place.
    Through the tall glass walls of the restaurant I saw Mar seated at a table. It was 8:30 and apparently this Spaniard commits to being on time. Although her husband arrived later due to conference calls he had to take. I remember those.
    The restaurant full. The atmosphere energetic. The people in lively conversations.
    Seeing the servers walking around carrying trays of tapas didn't immediately occur to me that this was different type of tapas bar. In fact not a menu in sight. And each tapas on those severs trays were skewered with either a long or short toothpick. Sure to hold it together was one eats it.
    It was a fun experience as without a menu servers walk around to each table with a tray of a specific tapas. They approach tell the diner what it is and if desired it is placed on ones plate. This interaction creates a friendly conversation between sever and dinner.
    I started with the Spanish tortilla (omelette) not to be mistaken for a Mexican tortilla. It was delicious. I took the skewer out and Mar told me to drop it in the empty glass on the table. OK.
    Each tapas different and with the exception of the tortilla each was served atop a small baguette slice. Next came a wonderful piece of cod beneath a savory sauce. The fish felt apart at the touch of my fork. Then a petite marinated brisket that melted in my mouth, lean shredded beef, an beef empanada, and what else? I lost tracked but finally could not eat more.
    We continued our conversation getting to know each other, life in Spain, the US.
    It was around 10:30 that we decided it was time get the check. Two hours at a table. Not rushed, not asked to leave. All very leisurely.
    I offered to pay the check but they insisted that it was their invitation and therefore their treat.
    Signaling one of the server for the check. She stepped over holding a tray of tapas in the air. As se did so she emptied the glass with the deposited skewers/toothpicks and counted them. Thirteen in all. Each of those skewers had a value. The long ones higher value than the short ones. That was our bill.
    I learned that this is a traditional way of serving tapas in the north of Spain. What an enjoyable night. Who needs a mobile device to scan a barcode pasted on a table top? Or read through a menu to figure out what to order? Traditions are good.
    All finished we said our good-byes parted. Noting there was now less automobile traffic and pedestrians I made my way home. Full from the meal, culturally satisfied.
    Read more