Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 25

    Taller Andaluz de Cocina

    23 Mart 2023, Ispanya ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    Spanish cooking class! Yes 3 1/2 hours cooking and eating!Paella Valenciana, Salmorejo, Spinach and Chickpeas, Lemon Sorbet with Cava, and Sangria.
    As much as I love to cook this was an excellent chance to learn about Spanish food and culture. And make the meal. I walked out stuffed.
    The class was held at the Sevilla food market. It is a large market with eateries, butchers selling lots of pork, beef, chicken, rabbit, bull’s tails, etc., fish mongers, vegetable and fruit vendors, spice, olives and olive oils, and nut vendors.
    The market was built on top of the Castle San Jorge on the banks of the Guadalquivir River. The castle below now a very nice art gallery is worth a visit. When construction of the market began 300 human remains were uncovered. It turns out that this was the original site of the Spanish Inquisition. Poor souls resting below a future market place and food stall.
    We receive a great introduction to all the various vendors with explanations of the meat and produce. The one picture of the lamb head it was pointed out that it’s a delicacy that some cook and eat the whole head including the eyes but the best part is the brain. Yeah I’ll try something once but not that!
    After that we returned to the kitchens divided into two groups of about ten.
    The participants in my group were all from the US except two ladies mother and daughter Allie and Carla from London.
    The food we got to cook and enjoy was wonderful especially the Salmoreja a creamy cold soup made only with ripe tomatoes, bread and olive oil. Served with s sprinkle of jamón and hard boiled egg. Wow! It was exquisite. This will be the first thing I make once back home.
    The paella was more complicated but really not all that difficult. The saffron, pimentón (paprika) and the garlic are critical ingredients. By the way, paella is the pan. I never knew!
    I also learned that saffron comes from a flower each strand picked by hand. And there are two types Spanish consisting of red and yellow strands and Iranian red only strands. Everything else not real saffron.
    The spinach and chickpeas tapas I ordered the first night in Sevilla was also on the menu. I’m glad since I’ll make it regularly.
    It was such a good experience. And I learned how to peal, cut artichokes and remove the hairs from artichokes! My €70 paid off. After the class ended, I strolled to the saffron vendor where I purchased a few grams. Plus pimentón.
    I wanted to see the Inquisition torture chambers of the castle below but now as an art gallery it was hard to imagine the pain inflicted therein. But I got a very good tour of the current exhibition by a young lady. It was just me but before we started three women who are local women artists joined us.
    Bring my last day in this historic city I had to walk the mile and a half along the banks of the river to Plaza de España. I pictured this busy river ships coming and going. Captains barking orders, oars churning the water while sails caught the wind. Mothers and wives crying tears of joy as the men disembarks while others shedding tears hoping their loved would return. Contracts signed, taxes paid, money made, jobs for many. The river banks a flurry of activity. Spain becoming a world power enriched by gold and silver. These tiny ships with brave men traversing the Atlantic made me think of the new frontier. The moon, Mars and beyond. Hundred of years from now our rockets will appear small and treacherous like the galleons that sailed the sea in those early seafaring days. I imaging that spacecraft of the future will dwarf todays rockets and the ISS. And I wonder what riches and new technologies will they return?While touring the Alhambra it was stated that Columbus was promised 10% profit by Queen Isabella. Apparently so much gold, silver and other goods were being brought back from the Americas that 10% would be a great amount of revenue for Columbus and family. So much so that it would have made them rich beyond imagining. Thereby, it is told that they could literally buy countries around the Mediterranean. I don’t recall the final outcome but certainly they were richly rewarded.
    Anyway back to my walk to Plaza de España which I had to see before my departure.
    It is massive. A symmetrical building constructed for the unsuccessful Ibero-American Exposition of 1929. That’s all I know about it but do know that it was used in two notable films, Lawrence of Arabia and Star Wars Attack of the Clones, among others.
    Sevilla or Seville is a city I want to visit again. And if you have the chance I highly recommend it. The neighborhoods, narrow streets, the cafes, broad elegant boulevards dotted with palm trees, fragrant orange trees, large ornate fountains, some in the middle of large roundabouts, statues to heros, the markets such a wonderful city. Welcoming and safe. The people and food memorable. The weather great! Except the hot summer months.
    Tomorrow back to sleepy Marbella for my final week in Spain.
    Okumaya devam et