Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Berlin Marathon

    April 2, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 48 °F

    A cold, cloudy day to become a bit sunnier as the hours passed. I walked out of my hotel finding the main thoroughfare crossing Wittenberg Platz was closed to traffic and pedestrians. The Berlin Marathon had begun. The first contestants coming through were in-line roller bladers. Ver cool to watch them speed past. Then had to find the morning’s coffee and croissant.
    My day was planned. The Museum of Architecture and Design. Followed by the Art Deco Museum ending with the German Spy Museum on Potsdamer Platz. Again a full day of cerebral stimulation starting with the arts.
    But my plan was quickly aborted after arriving at the Architecture Museum which was closed for renovation. Ok. The Jewish Museum which I intended to see Monday was near. So there I went only to find after checking my coat that I could only enter at a reserved time. Ok. I didn’t want to wait. Plan for tomorrow.
    Let’s head to the Spy Museum I concluded. Again reserved entry times were required. I decided against any museums today so I walked the mile to Brandenberg Gate. Although Check Point Charlie is historic it is quite touristy. The Brandenberg Gate is a more significant monument memorable for dividing the East from the West.
    The city was super busy with throngs of onlooker, runners, families. Everyone was out.
    I reached the Gate and walked underneath to see that the marathon ran through it to the finish line on the other side. It was wonderful to see a Cold War symbol being used in a joyful celebration.
    My own running of a half marathon took place on a hot August Chicago day. It was beautiful running along the lakefront to the Museum of Science and Industry the turning point then back to the finish line in Grant Park. Historic undertaking for me but not as historic I would imagine as finishing under this recognizable gate.
    This would conclude my Sunday. This evening I am going to an Israeli restaurant near the hotel. Tomorrow the factory and one last museum, hopefully.
    Read more