Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Muntibar - Albergue Lea

    May 13, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    A long and challenging walk today, 30 kms up and down mountains. It was very beautiful and not at all crowded - apart from a mountain bike race in the early stages. The trail was quite muddy in places, but the weather was dry and very pleasant.

    I left Izarbide at around 7.30ish, after a nice bowl of porridge. People laugh at me for carrying porridge in my backpack, but it's great hiking fuel! A big advantage of staying in an albergue rather than a hotel is that the facilities are totally geared towards walkers. It's great to be able to do laundry and use a kitchen.

    I took a few breaks along the way, including a long one in Markina. It was first communion day in the town and it was fun to watch the families celebrating. I had no fixed plan for how far I would walk today. I knew that most people were planning to stay in the monastery after Bolibar, but when I arrived there I had enough energy to walk a bit further.

    I phoned Albergue Lea in Muntibar to make sure that they had a bed, which thankfully they did. This is another great albergue, run by the most helpful couple ever. There are just 3 of us in a 10-bed dorm. Laundry and breakfast are included in the €15 price - the lady washed and dried all of my clothes. Such luxury! Dinner was great and very reasonably priced, with a 'half menu' option that suited me perfectly. I had a huge portion of lentil soup/stew, crusty bread and some home-made cake.

    I soaked my feet in a big basin of ice, which helped my blisters and swollen ankles. I'm very tired, but happy and comfortable. Life is good!
    Read more