Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Hondarribia to Hendaye

    May 17, 2017 in France ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    This was a travel day, with a little bit of walking. OK, probably more than a little bit of walking as my fitbit recorded 28,200 steps. 😊

    I took the ferry across the estuary from Hondarribia to Hendaye. A very pleasant little jaunt, on a sunny morning. There were just four of us in the boat.

    My plan was to walk from Hendaye to Saint Jean de Luz, but after walking along Hendaye Plage, I decided that I didn't really want to do this. I walked back along the beach, through the town and along the estuary to the railway station. The estuary/river walk is part of a GR route and a few people stopped me to ask where I was going! Two Italian men were particularly keen to chat, as they had walked the Camino Francés a few years ago.

    I hung around the train station for a while, before taking the train to Bayonne. This was so much faster and more comfortable than the bus.
    Read more