Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 168

    Cairns - Port Douglas

    September 17, 2017 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 22 °C

    Today we are making our way up north of Cairns to Port Douglas, so we set of in search of the Jucy office to pick up our hire car. We of course opted for the cheapest car possible so are now the proud owners of a Fiat Punto for the next 8 days! My first car was a Punto and like that one this one doesn't have much oomph about it. Fortunately we are not in a hurry to get anywhere.

    After picking up the car and doing a quick supermarket shop to stock up on some supplies, we were on our way. We took it nice and slow (the cars speed of choice) and stopped off at a few beaches on the way. Our first stop was Yorkeys Knob and our second Ellis Beach were we decided to get out for a stroll along the beach. The beach was huge and went on as far as the eye could see. After Ellis Beach, we made a brief stop at Rex Lookout from which you could see back down along the coast.

    For our 3 nights in Port Douglas we are staying in a retro caravan. It's at the bottom of an older British couples garden (which is more like a rainforest), who moved out to Australia around 8 years ago. Rebecca greeted us and she seems really friendly which is nice. The caravan is also super kitsch so you can imagine how much I love it! It's also pretty big which is lush after spending 4 nights in a prison cell. Unfortunately Rebecca informed us that they are due some rain over the next couple of days which is a bit annoying.

    In the evening we cooked up a veggie stir fry with some rice outside on the gas stove and then played some cards alongside a chorus of rainforest critters. Being in a caravan in the middle of the rainforest, it was inevitable that we would experience our first spider however it wasn't in the caravan that we spotted it! The bathroom is under the main house and I was quite happily having a wee before I went to bed when out of the corner of my eye I saw an enormous spider. Hello huntsman! It was a baby one but it was a big baby. Needless to say I didn't hang around to see it's parents. I'm a bit gutted I didn't have my phone on me to take a picture but I'm sure it won't be long until I find another one!
    Read more