Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Ea-Nasir and his bad copper

    May 2, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 50 °F

    The oldest known customer complaint. It's from Ur and written in cuneiform. What a thing to be remembered for.

    “Tell Ea-Nasir: Nanni sends the following message:

    When you came, you said to me: “I will give fine quality copper ingots.”

    You left, but you did not do what you promised me.

    You put ingots which were not good before my messenger and said:

    “If you want to take them, take them; if you do not want to take them, go away!”

    What do you take me for that you treat me with such contempt? …

    … How have you treated me for that copper?

    You have withheld my money bag from me in enemy territory;

    it is now up to you to restore to me in full.

    Take notice that I will not accept any copper from you that is not of fine quality.

    I shall select and take the ingots individually in my yard,

    and I shall exercise against you my right of rejection because you have treated me with contempt.”
    Read more