Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    The Biosolar Life

    April 16, 2014 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    I got the t-shirt. Navy blue polo neck with white stripes either side and the company emblem. I looked good. A fresh faced Biosolar employee. I was proud.

    When I started I joined a team called the Soul’a Shakers, ran by the coolest hippy environmentalist I’ve ever met, Pete vdr. The team name came from Bob Marleys soul shake down party, and this was our Van theme song. On the first day I was actually a little disappointed that I was put into a team that was so… calm… When leaving on the first day I remember Max’s team rolling out with loud music blaring and Max hanging out the window raving with the rest of his team. I was pretty jealous. I thought I kind of wanted a party vibe. Not to mention my team didn’t have any girls in it. Pete, Tim, Chirag, Ubed, Rashid the doctor, Alex the stockmarket trader, and me. It didn’t take me long to warm up though and grow to love these guys, they really took me under their wings and showed me the ropes. I’d never worked in a sales position before so it was a steep learning curve for me. And I grew to love the calm chilled out, confident vibe the team had. It wasn’t rushed, it wasn’t pressured, it was stress free and confident. Unlike any working environment I’d had in the UK.

    Before long the team had a few changes in the dynamic.. Alex left to pursue his trading ambitions, and Tim became a team leader for a new crew. Ubed had left to join him and help him train his new recruits, so we had some new members introduced to keep the van full. A couple of French guys, one called Tank who ended up having a little bit of an anger problem when he didn’t do so well. A German called Roman who had already had sales experience as a charity team leader so was great fun and sociable and hit the ground running with the job. Another Roman joined occasionally, a Jose Roman from Mexico, who always held the most serious of stares a little bit too long for comfort.

    Training was given each morning along side acknowledgement of the previous days/weeks successes. It was a very positive and encouraging environment, it was motivating to be part of the family and see my results change positively to help improve the success of the company.
    Read more