Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Gili Trawangan — Scuba Party

    September 14, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌬 27 °C

    - The first day on this island we just explored and shopped around for scuba diving
    - the island is very pretty, with paradisiac beaches worthy of a postcard
    - we tried some sunbathing but it practice it wasn't as nice as expected. It was quite windy, and the sea had a bunch of algae. The water was super warm though.
    - after shopping around some more we finally decided to follow the recommendation of my date in Bali and take a scuba try dive at the Manta diving school. While Vasco went for the refresher course.
    - We started in the pool, learning a bunch of safety instructions like cleaning the mask underwater, and learning hand signals to communicate.
    - By the end of the first dive I was so impressed that I took the impulse decision of taking the full scuba diving open water course. And Vasco was happy to tag along.
    - The following days we took 2 dives a day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon, and partied at night. It was such a fun time.
    - The last day of Vasco's vacation finally came to an end. We were kind of in a far away corner of the world and he had to start the laborious task of returning to Portugal. I took him to the ferry in Gili T. and bid him farewell.
    - It felt weird being left on my own after such an intensive trip with Vasco.
    - I then took on the exam, despite not having studied all the material as I should have. I told the this to the instructor, that maybe it would be better to postpone the exam to give me enough time to finish studying but he insisted I took it saying I would pass it without any issues. And I did!
    - I got to chill for the rest of the day.
    - At my hostel I became good friends with Candra (reads as chandra) who helped me organize a trip to Flores and multiple-day boat trip to Komodo island
    - That nigh I went out with a couple of girls I met at the hostel, Jo a mexican who brought along a german guy she was flirting with, and Nicole, a very nice Chillean girl with whom I was practicing my spanish. Candra also joined with a few more people from the hostel. We all went to Sama Sama, a reggae bar with live music.
    - We were having a ton of fun dacing to the live band until a sketchy indonesian groped Nicole's ass to which she responded violently
    - The guy didn't like her reaction but a bunch of people including me got in middle, so we just stand some 10 meters away staring at Nicole for a good half an hour like a sociopath. We didn't stay much longer.
    - When we returned Nicole was visibly shaken and didn't leave my side fearing some sort of retaliation for the public humiliation
    - We made it safely to the hostel where we stayed until very late talking about life and all kinds of things
    - In the next morning I left very early to start my solo adventure towards the Indonesian islands
    Read more