Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 104

    Bangkok – the farewell to Thailand

    December 13, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Last stop in Thailand, where I had the last pad thai, the last Thai curry and the last mango sticky rice. 😭

    Because I missed my train to Bangkok I only got one good day of exploration in town. And even that day was tainted by the fact that I was constantly checking if the Indian immigration had approved my visa, and trying to reach out to them to speed up the process.

    Despite all that, I had a pleasant stay. Got to see the big lying budda, enjoyed the great palace and its temples, strolled down Khaosan road amidst its DJs and scorpion skewers sellers, and watched a showcase of tradicional dances from all over Thailand in the royal theatre.

    Also had a few occasions where I didn't feel very welcomed. The very first stand I approached to get breakfast at a bus station refused to sell me food for some reason, and a lady at who's stall I had a pad thai didn't give me as much as a smile, while giving it to other clients. Maybe my mood not being the best had an impact on how other people perceived me. I wasn't impolite to anyone as far as I know.

    My flight was taking off at 21h, so after 19h I gave up on my flight and started making plans for a longer stay in Bangkok. A 125€ flight went out the window.

    Around 20h15 I received an email from the Indian immigration. My visa had been approved... I couldn't believe I had missed my flight for less than an hour!

    I started making new plans and ended up buying a new flight, directly to Goa this time, for that same night. Skipping Chennai where I was going to meet with my friend Valia. Luckily she was going to Mumbai the same weekend I was flying out, so we made plans to meet then.

    Maybe one hour after checking in the hostel I checked out without ever touching the bed, and called a car to go to the airport.
    Read more