Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Sagres, Portugal

    November 14, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    With temperatures starting to drop back home in Munich, I felt like it was the perfect time to kick off my travel adventures with a sunny autumn beach break in southern Europe. So I chose Sagres, Portugal for my first stop 🌊😎🇵🇹☀️

    A favourite with surfers and home to the most impressive landscape in the Algave. However, my stay started a little uneasy as I had some trouble with a local fisherman who tried to misuse me as a fishing bait. Luckily, I was able to convince him of penguins eating fish - and not the other way round. To digest this unpleasant encounter (see photo), I needed some days to relax at the beach and go for a surf. I caught some sick waves out there, even though the swell couldn’t compete with Pen Gu Island where I took part in a surfing competition some years ago. Anyway, whenever you’re in this area check out Sagres South. It offers some decent hollow barrels and challenging breaks. The only downside: The spot is pretty popular with humans – both visitors and locals – who desperately tried to copy some of my tricks. Without any success. Free of doubt, Penguins are much better surfers than humans. That being said, I have a fabulous time here in Portugal. I’ll stay for a couple of more days, I guess…

    Here my top three things to do in Sagres with my two-legged buddies and loyal Instagram followers:

    1. Head to the Lighthouse of Ponta de Sagres. The south-western tip of mainland Europe. The Algarve ends there in a rocky, high cliff with sparse, treeless vegetation. Watch the beautiful sunset and have a Bratwurst at a little grill called "The last bratwurst before America".

    2. Have a wonderful dinner at the "Cervejaria Talizé". It's a small local restaurant run by a really nice and fun family. Choose a fish and have it cooked on the grill right in front of the restaurant. Really delicious food! Best thing: I didn't even have to catch the fish myself (which doesn’t happen very often when you are a penguin).

    3. Explore the hidden beaches. If you are willing to go a little off road (no worries, a normal car and a bit of attention is fine), you can find cool beaches with less people. I recommend "Ponta Ruiva" beach, the longest left point break in the area. Or Praia Baranco, a hippie beach where people might welcome you with soap bubbles.
    Read more