Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Cirencester: Market Day

    August 5, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌧 16 °C

    Today we drove to Cirencester as it was Market Day. Markets are always a bit unpredictable, and I while I love artisan craft markets, I didn't want to drive 30 minutes for a perfect home grown pumpkin. Thankfully Cirencester did not disappoint. A very pretty streetscape, old wonky buildings, lots of lovely shops and a bustling market (and a Church of course!)

    My raincoat got a workout again. Some of the markets are outdoors in front of the church. Some of them are indoors in Corn Hall. There were lots of lovely things! I nearly bought a bag made from cork fabric. It feels lovely and is waterproof. It feels like a cross between leather and fabric. I did buy a necklace made from Italian ladder yarn. The trouble with me and craft markets is that I look at all the creations and think "I could make that" or "I'd love to give that a try" and I'm generally too tight with my wallet. The thing is, time is not a limitless commodity and the reality is I'm not going to get around to trying all these things so I should just buy something if I like it. I love textile creations the most.

    We also found an impressive antiques shop and Ian found a few treasures. There was a fascinating coin collection in there: Roman coins from Bible times, eg first Jewish revolt in time of Domitian.

    St John's church was also interesting to visit (and dry!). This also had a very ornate pipe organ. I really want to hear one of these played! I'd love to be there when someone is practising. They had a fundraising shop at the back and I found a few more Hannah Dunnett items.
    Read more