Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    The Napoleon Route

    April 29, 2017 in France ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    Our first night on the Camino was a relative success. We stayed at the Auberge du Pèlerin in the heart of St Jean Pied de Port.According to my fit bit, I slept from 10pm to 3am (my longest night time sleep yet) and Tom and I fit surprisingly well on a single sized mattress! Multiple people's alarms went off at 6am this morning in our fully booked 8 bed room (including Tom's) just as I was dozing off again.

    We had a yummy breakfast of hot chocolate (a breakfast staple in Europe, it seems) orange juice and bread (alas, no veggies or protein). Then I joined Tom for the first mile on the Napoleon route. I was diagnosed with a mild case of plantar fasciitis from over training the day before we left Delaware so Tom and I thought it best for me to opt out of what many pilgrims consider the most arduous trek of the entire journey, which also happens to be the first day. The Napoleon route gains about 4,500ft elevation over 15.3 miles. I'll be taking a bus to Roncesvalles which leaves from SJPP at 10AM. Hopefully my early arrival at Roncesvalles will give me an edge in securing beds for us tonight...I checked booking last night and there was literally nothing available for advanced booking. Fingers crossed we don't find ourselves on the floor of the church.
    Read more