Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Welcome to 2015

    January 1, 2015 in Austria ⋅ ⛅ 0 °C

    This time last year I was sitting on a bus recovering from a night bringing in 2014 in Paris with my Contiki family. I was full of excitement for the adventures up coming and optimism for the year that lay ahead.

    This year I am in Salzburg, Austria with my family! Mum and I stayed awake to see in midnight and boy was it worth it. Fireworks are legal for the public to buy and use here, so all night people all around the area were setting off little blasts here and there. When midnight finally rolled around boy did the skies light up with fireworks all over the place! It was just brilliant. The snow had finally stopped falling, it was -2 degrees and mum and I danced in the snow welcoming in the new year. After some hard work building an epic snowman earlier in the evening Dan and Dad retired to bed early.

    In 2014:
    I visited X countries and X towns (that I can remember)
    I moved to London and lived in Finsbury Park and West Hampstead
    I worked for a temp agency, interned for London Youth Games and am currently a project coordinator for TMPW
    I met loads of family in Ireland on both mum and dad's sides
    I went to Wimbledon and saw the men's quarter finals
    I went to Geneva for my birthday to watch Federer play in the Davis Cup
    I saw the Wallabies play England at Twickenham and I stumbled across a pub showing the State of Origin
    I attended the 99th ANZAC Day service in Gallipoli
    and saw many, many plays in the West End

    In 2015:
    I start with a job, a house and with my family
    I'm making some solid goals to give me direction for the year
    I'm going to get fit again a) join a gym near my house b) join a tennis club
    I want to learn German more
    I'm going to participate in the free meditation in Covent Garden
    I'm planning my travels and going to ensure I get the best prices

    I've volunteered to help at the London Comedy Film Festival in January. I am very excited about this opportunity, more excited then I've been in a while. And I'm going to keep my eyes open for a few more of these opportunities! Who knows what I might get to be a part of in 2015. One can only jump forward and take a leap of faith :)

    Where I stayed
    Austria Trend Hotel Salzburg Mitte - Muenchner Bundesstrasse 114a, Salzburg, Austria

    A comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. it's a little ways from the centre but a bus runs straight past into Old Town on a regular basis. Rooms were clean and tidy, just asking for a non-smoking one if you don't smoke. Free wi-fi and a good breakfast.
    Read more