Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Budapest - a cultural experience

    January 10, 2015 in Hungary ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Today was all about fitting in as many cultural experiences as possible. With only one real day to explore Budapest I needed to get moving early.

    My main goal was to reach the Szechenyi Baths and Pools, one of the most famous baths in Budapest.

    So I was up early and on my way. My roommate had visited the baths earlier in the week and recommended I walk down the most famous shopping strip, Andrassy Avenue. They call it Champs Elysees of the East due to the beautiful buildings and Wide Street. So that is where I headed.

    The street was just beautiful. The buildings, currently looking like that had lost the shine of their former glory, had taken on new characteristics and now told a new story. Every one was unique and individual.

    At the end of the Avenue I am greeted with Hero's Square and just like the public squares in Paris, it is huge! On one side is the Museum of Fine Arts, while on the other is the Hall of Art. In the centre of the square is a giant statue featuring the Seven Chieftains of the Magyars as well as the tomb of the unknown solider.

    Behind the square is the City Park and currently a giant ice skating rink. Further on there is a castle, and I take the time to wander through here and the gardens beyond. In winter everything takes on a different kind of beautiful. There were frozen ponds, trees missing leaves, and shades of purples and reds. It was really lovely.

    After embracing the nature I finally make my way towards the Szechenyi Baths and Pools. I pay the entrance fee and head into the changing rooms before walking through the internal baths and finally to the outside ones. This is where the really hot baths are and the ones that are used in all of the images.

    Having not thought this through entirely, I just have my small towel, thongs and togs on to roam around in…. in -3 degree weather! Man have I acclimatised so well! haha

    I spent a good while swimming in between the two major pools outside before going inside and floating around in different temperatures. I tried the steam room downstairs and then dived into the very cold pool to cool off.

    In one of the outside pools there was a small whirlpool in the centre. This was great fun! Just floating on by as the water swished you around. But all good things must come to an end. So I waved goodbye to the Turkish Baths and headed back out towards my hostel.

    I roamed round some streets trying to find a restaurant that had been recommended, but in the end my hunger took over and I settled for what looked like a not too touristy restaurant / bar. I enjoyed Goulash, which is more watery here then the Goulash in Austria, and an interest pancake dessert that was lit on fire when served.

    After lunch I went to a massive shopping centre in the hopes of purchasing some bargains for the year a head. Spending money on clothing is not high on my list of priorities, but it was time for some new attire.

    With my new purchases safely tucked away in my suitcase I showered and headed out for the night. There was a jazz bar I had seen earlier in the day and wanted to visit it this evening. I had dinner in a humus café, where everything is humus based. It was awesome! The alcohol here is so cheap and so good.

    The jazz bar was celebrating its 3rd birthday this evening and was putting on an array of musical performances, not all jazz for the night. There was no room left in the concert area when I arrived so I took a glass of wine and sat down to listen in the bar.

    I eventually made my way into the concert area and watched a really interesting performance. I think I just left before the Australians I had made friends with arrived. They got the end of the performance I had been watching and enjoyed the cake I saw being brought out earlier. Oh timing, timing, timing!

    I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in Budapest. It was nice to meet other fellow travellers who were interested in learning and exploring and sharing their experiences. And even though its still 2 degrees it feels like summer is coming soon … in a few months haha, and this makes me happy.

    My journey back to London was quite an experience. After booking a ride on the airport transfer bus. I wanted in the rain for 40 mins to go back inside and be told they had missed me. After waiting a further 30 mins in the rain I went back inside and asked for a refund and for them to book a taxi.

    My taxi arrived and we had to do a deal between Hungarian coin and British Pounds, as I just didn’t have enough on me. I made it to the airport, got through customers, passport control and checking my bag in with 20 mins to spare before I had to board - just enough time to enjoy a quick bite.

    And lucky I had that quick bite, just as we had all boarded the plane and the doors locked the pilot advised us that due to extreme wind at Heathrow we would be waiting on the tarmac for 2 hours. TWO HOURS! Having been slightly cocky that I had yet had a poor travel experience, I guess today was my day. So I settled back into my chair and read a book whilst we passed the time.

    When we eventually did take off, we enjoyed some beautiful sights over Hungary and Austria before lifting into the clouds. We enjoyed an additional 30 mins fly around Heathrow before we eventually landed, and I got to enjoy a 1-hour train ride back to London in peak hour tourist time with my bag. It was a very grounding journey indeed.


    Well London I am back. We have roughly 12 months left together before I must return home. We’ve had a rocky time last year, but 2015 feels good. It feels like it’s going to be a great one, don’t let me down! Let’s do this!
    Read more