Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Graham Norton Show

    February 16, 2015 in England ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    It finally happened! I finally made it to the Graham Norton Show!!! Woohoo!

    After what felt like months and months Marian and I finally got into the studio and got to see a show being recorded. I'll take you back to the start.

    All the way back in November I got an email to say that I'd been selected for a show. So off we headed, fingers crossed that we'd get in, but aware that we might not. Side note: they send out more tickets then required to ensure they get a full house. This Thursday we were not so lucky, about 50 people out I reckon. So on to the priority listing I went and waited for an email to arrive.

    Next, I received an email with a series of dates I was able to chose from. January 22nd was the lucky day I selected and I waited with great anticipation all over Christmas for this day to arrive only for our show to be cancelled the week before :(

    We were then given another series of dates, and this time I chose a Monday slot, Monday the 16th of February.

    We arrived and were listed as number 180 in the queue and then had to wait around until they called our number. Of course, it started tor ain.

    Our number rang out and in we went, climbing up the stairs to our studio. We entered from the back row and walked down to our seats. The colours were so impressive, there was the seats, where they had the musicians. I was beyond excited!

    We were seated to the left of Graham, and took in a good view of the guests. Once everyone was in they brought out the comedian who rounds the crowd up and whips them into a frenzy. Unlike most shows we were warned about that they stop and start, this didn't really happen.

    Graham came out spoke to us all then we recorded the intro, his welcome piece and introduced the guests. The interviews happened, we stopped for the band to come one and sing, and then the singers joined the couch. Then it was time for the Red Chair, before the guests left and the band played a couple more times and that was it. We did some final intro pieces for the show and then Mr Norton bid us farewell.

    Our guests tonight were Sean Penn, Celia Imrie, Ross Noble and Kelly Clarkson. It wasn't the best couch I'd ever seen, but still a great time!
    Read more