Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 95

    Birthday 25!

    April 5, 2015 in England ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Today I have officially been on the planet for 25 years. I am a quarter of a century old haha.

    This time last year I was enjoying a weekend in Geneva, watching the Davis Cup, bleeding my wallet dry with the Swiss currency and basking in the beautiful sunny weather. For the second time in 2 years I was either on a job interview or heading into a job interview just after my birthday. My roles changed the direction of my life and have given me life long friends and experiences.

    This year, however, is a different story. I'm reaching the end of a 9 month contract. I'm giving up my flat, my job and going travelling for 4 months. A friend, whom I moved to London at the same time, moved back to Australia on my birthday. I'm throwing everything into the wind just to see what happens. It's thrilling!

    This year my birthday has landed on Easter Sunday and Easter weekend. So I decided to have a birthday weekend. I celebrated with my work colleagues on Thursday, who gave me the gift of two tickets to the Taste of London event! I had a massage on Friday, watched the end of the Jesus story in the rain in Trafalgar Square, I enjoyed dinner in the National Gallery Dining Rooms and attended a wonderful event called Letters Live.

    On Saturday I got lost in Hampstead Heath and lounged around the house. On Sunday, my housemates and I went to the local pub for a roast lunch. And guess what!? The sun made an appeareance! We basked in it's glory before going home to bake mum's chocolate cake. Louise and I sang happy birthday and blew out the candles. Monday saw the sun out in it's full glory and I on a bike ride along the London canals, from Hackney to Little Venice. Finishing with a gin and burger and a game of scrabble in a pub. A wonderful weekend of eating, drinking, and relaxing.

    I like this tradition of making a big change on or around my birthday. It means that once a year adventure must occur. I'm excited! I'm excited to travel, to eat, to learn, to enjoy the time I have to do this. The next four months will open up whole new possibilites and I can't wait.

    London I'll be back in the Autumn to finish out what has been, so far, an unbelieveable 16 months.

    Stay tuned :)
    Read more