Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 139

    Day 5: HelpX - final day

    May 19, 2015 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Today is my final day as a HelpXer for Helen and David.

    And as it's not raining we're finally getting j to the garden to plant those potatoes! We've got our earliest start yet, breakfast at 7 with croissants.

    Divia and I start in the vegetable patch we started with last week, before moving on to two others. We dug up the dirt, pull out any weeds and then rake it back over the ground.

    I'm responsible for planting the potatoes. I line up the pegs, pull up the dirt, place the potato and burry the dirt. This takes up all of our allocated time for today.

    For lunch we had 5 salads to choose from and muffins for dessert.

    While I pretend to pack up my room Divia is preparing for her nursing interview tonight in Skype with a university in Toronto.

    This afternoon we take a walk up to the ghost village. It's this old town, that looks to be built in the medieval period, that was abandoned by its occupants in the war. They took only what they could carry and everything else was left behind. It's still there now, spoons in walls, bed frames, tables and ovens.

    The view walking down was spectacular. Added bonus was the clear blue skies. That was a 2 hour return walking journey.

    But the walking wasn't over. While Divia attended her interview David and I went for a walk through the forest looking for mushrooms. It was, unfortunately, to dry and to early in the season. But we saw all sorts of plants, beds wild boars had made, badgers borrows and fox's toilets.

    For dinner we had:
    Seafood risotto
    Salad
    Tiramisu and strawberry-misu
    Pink prosecco

    We played uno, but we regular cards and chase the ace. I managed an epic 3 match winning streak in uno to hold off losing to David, but I eventually succumbed.

    I've had an awesome time here. Manual labour is a very different kind of wok haha and I have a new appreciation and thankfulness for all the farmers out there.
    Read more