Satellit
Vis på kort
  • Dag 143

    Lyon, France

    23. maj 2015, Frankrig ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Today is my only full day in Lyon before I leave for Paris tomorrow. Last night the housemate at my Airbnb stay invited me to join her and a friend at her favourite market in the ____ area of Lyon. Being that food markets are one of my fav things to visit I of course said yes.

    So at 10:30am today we set off taking the underground to the nearest station and then walking down. We got a bread roll from the local bakery and walked down to take in a beautiful view over the town. We her friend arrived we entered the market.

    It was the longest market I've seen! Everywhere you looked there was fruit, vegetables, meat, fish, cheese, olives, breads, nuts and so much more. You could smell the peaches from a mile away. I picked up some peaches and bananas for under 2, plus some olives and blue cheese. I couldn’t go past the opportunity to buy local cheese in France.

    Afterwards she took me for a walk through the city, as we were on top of a small mount we walked down into the town. It was a beautiful bohemian walk, passing all the little shops with people selling their jewellery and hand made clothes.

    We stopped in for a coffee and éclair before she took me through the old town area, after I admitted that I hadn’t been there yet haha. After a quick rest at the house I head out on my own heading up the shopping district of Lyon. I was feeling a bit low, probably nervous about heading back to London and not having any concrete plans. London will chew up your bank account with plans.

    To cheer up I stopped in a cool looking bar for a drink and ate the free nuts that come with drinks at this time of the day, and contemplated life. After a while I headed across Old Town and did a loop a few times looking for the perfect place to have dinner.

    I settled on a small, very busy restaurant and had to wait 15 mins before a table would be ready. They have a variety of 3 course meals you can choose from and as I want to try the snails to make up for the poor dish Contiki served me last year, that’s the course I settled on.

    First course: 12

    Second course: beer something

    Third course: tart something

    Apparently the tart is a local dish in Lyon, but it tasted a bit like icing sugar haha.

    Tonight is the Eurovision final, so the town is buzzing and the housemate is having a friend over to watch it. So I head home to watch it in my room too and cheer on guy. I didn’t realise how long it went for! It was made more interesting because I had a friend attending and enjoyed her live reviews throughout the weekend.

    Tomorrow I plan to catch an uber to the train station and have some breakfast there before taking the train to Paris. Goodbye Lyon you were definitely a good visit!
    Læs mere