Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 172

    Nike Women's 10k

    June 21, 2015 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Today I worked for Nike as staff for their 10k Nike women's run held at Victoria park in East London.

    I stated at a hostel last night near Greenwich as I had a 630am start! As I arrived onsite I walked through the course and past the start/finish board on my way to the check in point.

    On check in I was given a Nike shirt to wear and badge saying 'Nike staff'. Breakfast was a hot bun and tea.

    My role was village directional and support staff. Basically, I directed runners to their holding bays and wandered around the village. I also got an additional job of handing out gift bags to the runners as they returned to the village.

    The Nike 10k women's run was really cool. Each rubber had a event shirt on, there was a warm up at the start of each race and Ellie Goulding was in attendance to cut the ribbon. There was a drums band and jazz band located around the track and the women's received a specially designed necklace instead of a medal.

    The village was full of sponsor stands giving away free gifts or services. You could have your hair braided, make your own .... Box, there was protein ice cream samples, a silent disco and much more.

    A great photo point was this pedal with board which had every runners name on it, all 10 000 of them.

    It was a great event and I was a bit jealous not to be one of the runners. Ah well, until next time!
    Read more