Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 211

    Skopje: Last day so I went to a canyon

    July 30, 2015 in North Macedonia ⋅ ☀️ 37 °C

    Today is my last day in Skopje, so I've decided to head out to the ... Canyon as recommended by the hostel.

    It's a 40 minute bus ride, by public transport, to the canyon. Where the bus drops us off reminds me a little of the rolling stone area at home. Except there is a much bigger stream. But there are people up and down both sides, settling in with their picnics and togs. Kids are jumping off bridges and rocks all up the water.

    There are little shops set up selling ice cream and a couple of restaurants too. As I walk further up the canyon we pass a water pump or control and then reach a little bay of sorts. There are boats here taking people up the river and a fancy type restaurant.

    The main thing to do is to take a boat ride up the river and visit an underground cave. When I arrive there wasn't any boats docked, so I took a walk along the cliff face for a while and headed back when I could see the boats returning.

    It's a little dingy we are in, 400 MKD. We ride up the river until we reach the caves and we climb out of the boat and down into the cave.

    Caves really aren't my thing, but this one had a cool light spray happening. It has a constant temp of 15 degrees all year round. So it was a nice change from the 41 degrees outside.

    Apparently the water was 12 degrees and do clean you can drink it straight from the river. Some people did too.

    We headed back to the shore and I walked bank to where we were meant to meet the bus. I then realised that I never got a return time :/

    A family who has been on the bus earlier said it has just left and wound be back in an hour. So I headed up and had lunch. Kebab, schopa salad and bread. Warm, seemly fresh, bread with a salty topping. Yummy!

    About an hour and a half later the bus showed up and off we went back to town. Another day in Skopje done.
    Read more