Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Vientiane

    November 20, 2018 in Laos ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    I’ve never really heard anything about Laos, and was quite curious to see what the country would be like. I arrived in the capital, which doesn’t really feel like a capital at all. Nonetheless, it is quite an interesting place. I stayed at Barn 1920s, an amazing hostel where I met really nice and interesting people.

    I was lucky enough to coincidently be there during the That Luang Festival, which is the country’s most important event, when Lao people from all over the countries come to the That Luang stupa to give their offerings to the monks. I also watched some cultural performances on the street.

    On one of the nights I went out to a bar by myself, if we the first time I've ever done this. The night turned into an incredible experience in which I talked to a local Lao person (Lae) and a French guy who moved to Laos four years ago (Yannick). We talked about culture, politics, education, life choices and relationships, which was incredible and inspiring.

    I've also met people of different ages who left everything, quit their job, and went traveling. This is so inspiring and it keeps reminding me that there's much more to life than what we often see (and get used to) in our daily lives.
    Read more