Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Phangern Mountain Viewpoint

    November 25, 2018 in Laos ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I dedicate a separate footprint for this place because it is one of the most spectacular ones I've seen on this trip. The hike to the top was quite a challenge, and even more so considering that the sun was soon setting, and I had about one hour for a 1:30 hour hike. I hiked at a really fast pace (and looked like I took a shower when I arrived) and reached the top about 5 minutes before sunset. This was one of the most diverse and interesting hikes I've ever done.

    The view was spectacular, I really felt on top of the world (which I guess I was, at least of that world). That feeling you get when you reach the top is indescribable - and priceless. It was worth every single bit of energy I put into the hike.

    There were two huts at the top, one pointing towards sunset, one towards sunrise. On my way back I met a couple in the latter hut, they put up a tent and made a small fire, probably preparing for dinner. I must say this was one of the most romantic adventures I've ever witnessed, and one that has definitely landed on my bucket list (given I return to Laos at some point, which I think I will). The atmosphere was just perfect, and maybe I was even slightly envious in that moment, imagining myself in such a setting.

    I hiked back in complete darkness (prepared with a head torch, of course 😏), which reminded me a lot of the hike I did by night at Mount Warning in Australia, in order to watch the sunrise. A really fun adventure!

    To put it shortly, this was an absolute highlight of my journey.
    Read more