Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Toronto Day 2

    August 28, 2018 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Hot day in the city! Even after 10pm at night it was over 25 degrees. Much more pleasant in the evening to walk around though.

    So after checking out from my hotel in the morning, I went on one of those “hop on/hop off” bus tours that most major cities offer. It’s a good way to get around the city and see some of the main areas and sights. We did indeed see some interesting neighborhoods and attractions along the way. For example Casa Loma - a huge gothic mansion with 98 rooms, including 30 bathrooms! It is possible to get inside which would be fun to try sometime.

    We also passed by some of the museums in Toronto, such as the Bata Shoe Museum which has a collection of over 13,000 shoes. Crazy.

    I eventually got off the bus at the waterfront to get on a free boat ride that was included with the tour. The boat trip provided a great view of the skyline and a peak at some of the islands that are part of the city.

    After getting back on dry land I finished the remaining few stops of the bus tour, and visited CF Toronto Eaton Centre - a huge shopping mall with over 200 stores. Apparently they get 50 million visitors a year. Not bad. I’m not much of a shopper but I had some lunch there and went window shopping at least.

    In the afternoon I checked into my second hotel, the lovely Fairmont. Before getting too settled though, I left to return to CN Tower. It’s a bit of a tourist trap but one of those things you have to do when in Toronto. And the view was pretty good from up there! It was fun to visit this Canadian landmark.

    I had dinner at a sports bar close to the tower. They played Nirvana, so I must have picked the right place! 🤘 Food was good too. Since I was in the entertainment district I walked around for a bit to check it out. Pretty cool area. The city is preparing for TiFF - Toronto International Film Festival that begins next week, and is one of the biggest in the world.

    Speaking of films, I finished the evening by watching the latest Ant-Man at a local movie theatre. It’s the 20th entry in the very successful Marvel Cinematic Universe. It was very entertaining, and it made sense to watch it now since I’ll be meeting the star of the film, Evangeline Lilly, in just a couple of days!
    Read more