Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Chicago Day #2

    October 11, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    I spent my first full day in Chicago doing some various sightseeing and exploration around the Windy City (it lived up to that name, btw).

    My first stop was a location a bit outside the city, in a bit of a shady neighborhood! I wanted to see some of the places used on a popular TV series called "Shameless" which is set in the outskirts of Chicago. The main house used on the show is used in a lot of scenes, so it was fun to see that place in person.

    After that I went to a pizza place to have an authentic deep-dish pizza, something of a Chicago "must do". The pizza was indeed quite good so I enjoyed trying that experience.

    Next up was another very touristy Chicago landmark - the world-famous Sears Tower, now officially called Willis Tower. It was the tallest building in the US until the new Freedom Tower in NYC surpassed it a few years ago.

    Unfortunately, the usually impressive view from the top of the Willis Tower was not super impressive on this day, since the weather was terrible, and visibility was very limited. But still a fun experience and still great views.

    After Willis, I went to Navy Pier - another popular tourist attraction in Chicago. Again, the weather was pretty bad, and it's mostly the type of attraction that works best when it's sunny, warm and nice. There's a big Ferris wheel there, and various other rides, but they were closed due to the weather conditions. Still, a nice place in Chicago that was fun to see.

    Before leaving the city for the day, I had an early dinner at a restaurant that mostly serves seafood, so I had garlic shrimp which was delicious.

    When I got back to Rosemont, which is actually about an hour outside of Chicago where my hotel is, I went to the first day of the Ace comic con which takes place at a huge convention center in Rosemont. I had a photo shoot in the evening with one Chris Hemsworth, an actor very well-known for playing Thor in the Marvel movies.

    I will be returning to Ace in the next two days!

    Speaking of Ferris, after returning to the hotel I watched one of my favorite films, "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", which takes place in Chicago, including some of the places I saw earlier in the day.

    Overall a great day! 😀
    Read more