Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Hollywood

    September 28, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    After relaxing at the hotel this morning, I went to Walt Disney Studios for a tour. I have previously done tours of Warner Bros, NBC, Paramount, Sony and Universal but this was my first time doing the tour of Disney's studios, where countless Disney productions over the years have come to life.

    Among other things, we visited the animation building where animated classics like Cinderella and The Jungle Book were created. It was fun to hear more about the laborious process from pre-production, production to post-production, and how much things have changed as technology has evolved.

    We also visited the rooms that served as Walt Disney's private office for over 25 years. It has been restored to resemble the exact way it looked in the late 60s, with all of Walt's original books, scripts, etc. Very fascinating to visit this historic place.

    We also saw the outside of several massive sound stages where Disney productions, such as Pirates of the Caribbean, filmed scenes.

    After my last Disney activity on this trip, I made my way to Hollywood to stay at the Magic Castle hotel, one of my favorites.

    Then I did what nobody else does in Los Angeles: a long walk! While I have often passed by the same locations on previous trips, it was fun to walk by many legendary spots on the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood. Many rock bands started out in venues like the Whisky, Roxy, and Rainbow - all of which still exist.

    In the evening, I had dinner at Musso & Frank Grill, the oldest restaurant in Hollywood, which also appears in many movies and TV series. Very cool place with a rich history.
    Read more