Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 136

    Day 134 Locked away!

    August 2, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Thursday 02/08/2018 (Day 47 SZ) Karma Borgo Di Colleoli Via Panoramica 20 56036 Palaia Colleoli (PI) Tuscany Italy Pisa

    Today was spent coped up in side to get my notes done for the blog and pics.... it really is taking away from my trip... I had planned to go out to the pool today, but dues to being behind so far that’s gone out the window..I only have myself to blame, I write too much and take too long, getting slower and slower in my old age...

    By afternoon I had, had enough and no where near finished... so we headed to the village to post James’s present to him..only the young guy who couldn’t speak much English told us he had no post bags to mail it to Australia.....so after a few minute we decided we would tell him we would try and get one and be back tomorrow it’s, Thursday, Friday we can buy one with the fact they are opened on Sat we can come back before we leave.....

    My actual waiting time at the post office before my turn.....I am dicing with death each visit to this village...when you walk around all the elderly stare at you suspiciously like your going to do something wrong... and in the post office building when I arrived, there were 2 elderly women, one inside the office....

    The other sitting in the set outside a younger women still older than me next to her... no greetings to say bonjour today, they just gave me the stare....I sat and then the younger woman said something, which I took it be, you wait inside, so I got up to go in to the main office...the other older women was nearly having an conniption fit, pointing at herself that she was next... I am nodding to say yes, but I am sure if she could have slit my throats there and then she would have... I worked out it must be pension day..and don’t let anyone come between them and their pension... the poor guy in the office must put up with some stuff the old women look like they download all their problems on him and he just smiles sweetly and nods... you don’t need Italian to understand what they are doing... finally she left so it meant the other old lady could come in giving me the stare that I wouldn’t get out of my chair, that felt like a box I had been stuffed into ..... then she did the same as the other old women before her, talked nine to the dozen, he just smiled sweetly and nodded...funny to watch actually... finally my turn and that didn’t work out as no post bags so we left to return tomorrow.....

    From the post office we headed to the coffee shop across the road, had afternoon tea .... was watched by the locals... Then we set off to check out the village... what an unreal little place this is... the whole village is set out on the top of ridge lines of the hills around the areas....single streets run along each ridge line there are around 4 kind of like a cross and the main section of the village seems to meet in the middle of the cross... the Main Street is narrow at both ends with city gates to drive through, the middle fattens out interesting layout unless you see it,it is hard to get your head around, even driving around it is still difficulty to orientate yourself...

    We parked in the middle section of the main area..then set out on foot to check it out only issue was the elderly sitting out in the afternoon light, all gave us the stare like we were going to be a problem..we tried to say bonjour but they weren’t to keen on saying it back..heaps of local village children were either playing or heading to guitar lessons the elderly all chatted to them... as I was taking a pic of an old barber’s shop an older bloke did come up to us and tried to tell me all about when it was opened...It looks like it was a business many years ago... we had seen 2 other hairdressers earlier..... heaps for a tiny village like it is... and the elderly man was pointing and chatting on in Italian. I worked out he was telling us about the other to hairdressers now this one isn’t here anymore...I had a laugh with him, didn’t understand a word he said but we didn’t need words actions said it all...

    After we had a look around we headed back to the car and drove to the big cathedral that’s in the entrance to town from the resort..in actual fact there are about 4-5 entrances to the town....I took some pics of the doors then we headed back to the resort... we had take away pizza tonight.... very spicey and John wasn’t keen on it.. so only had a bit. Another day gone....Boy are the moving fast...
    Read more