Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 143

    Day 141 Dark Skys and bedroom gloom....

    August 9, 2018 in France ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    Thursday 09/08/2018 Day (Day 54 SZ) Appart'City Nîmes 364, allée de l’Amérique Latine, Nîmes, 30900, France

    A day of booking units and diary..it has been a huge decision on how to plan the next section of our trip.

    Originally we had the plan of travelling most of Spain and Portugal, however due to costs of accommodation this being peak season, even tough Spain is supposed to be cheap peak season the prices are truly ridiculous... they know they are a popular destination at this time of the year and the prices rise 200-500% and this has made what is left which is slim pickings our of our budget..
    The other reason is distances with time, taking time out to do the 2 resorts with Karma the one in Tuscany and the one in Normandy which is ahead have taken some of our days hence less time to be explore... so change of plan, we are still going to Spain and Portugal but only the top areas of both.....I am disappointed in many ways, as this had been a plan for a long, long time to see both these countries extensively. But sometimes you have to see reason... as it turns out even the places we have managed to find have been much more than planned... the trouble is you can’t get away from peak season anywhere in most of Europe as its summer everywhere!

    So with the new itinerary which takes us to Barcelona, somewhere I wasn’t counting on going again....we had done Barcelona in 2000 which we had enjoyed then, but no desire to go back... however we are so will now have to find some interesting sights to go to, and I know it does have many from our last visit, now a rediscovery.....

    Then as I was getting my pics uploaded disaster struck... I was changing external hard drives when my hand pulled the lead to hard, very new 2 TB external hard drive took off across the table and landed on the floor... I have had this happen before and it survived I have also had this happen before and I killed it and extremely devastatingly it is dead... I tried for ages to make it work, not wanting to fess up to John what I did as. Knew he would be pretty Pived off and yes he was... I felt just so upset... it holds the whole of my copies not the originals, but this had so many that had been worked on to save time once home... no matter what we did no way can you access them... we had only just bought it a few weeks ago... this was due to sheer volume of pics taken had filled up my 500mg and the 1 TB as we had movies and ebooks on them as well, hence no more room... all was going well until I dropped it... it makes a beeping noise and the info I read on the net tells us with the right help you may be able to resale what’s lost... however not while we are traveling, this means 2 things we have to wait until I get home to try and no guarantee it will work and 2 we have to buy a new one again... no wonder John’s Pppppp offfff.... I still can’t believe I did this..to be honest as I write this now a number of days later I still tire up about what I did, but I can’t undo it so just have to work around it....

    Today is very, very overcast an about 1pm it started to pour so good thing we decided to stay in..... I stiff around so much with ma blog I only be a small amount done what with research in the places so I give the right facts and procrastination I only get small bits done at a time... the older I get the slower I am getting sad 😞 to say...

    About 5 pm the rain cleared so we headed out to clear my head and look for a hard drive... we were positive there was a shopping centre close by, but alas it wasn’t once we had walked there only to discover a lot of empty shops and a huge Gym.... so back home head cleared a bit, time to get dinner on again...

    Might not have gone anywhere but absolutely had it from the emotional fall out of writing and the hard drive episode... tomorrow’s a new day we head off to look again after taking today off....

    The light at the end of my tunnel today was the lovely pink hued sunset... gives me hope for a better day tomorrow...
    Read more