Satellite
Show on map
  • Noon day 35

    June 18, 2022 in Wales ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    Walked 200’ up slate maker’s inclines to bwlch (col/saddle) above my pitch quite quickly. I had more energy than I expected. Breeze a lot stronger on the bwlch as I had my first glimpse of the sea. Then turned right/north for slow careful scramble up Craigysgafn. Passed some huge beautiful quarz rocks on the way up. From the top I could see my next objective, Moelwyn Mawr - checkpoint 30 on the Cambrian Way. The route look straight forward enough, gentle descent from Craigysgafn to another bwlch, then up a long grass slope to top of Moelwyn Mawr. ‘Moel’ means a rounded top hill so they are rarely challenging. On top the descents all looked scarily vertical. But as I have often found when I have initially been incredulous about a drop, carefully following the map there was an easy route down off to the east of the vertical faces I could see from the top. I met my first walker of the day on the way down. A local from Ffestiniog doing a 8 mile circuit of the hills.

    3/4 mile further on I passed through extensive abandoned slate workings. There were spoil heaps, dramways, barracks, sheds and abandoned machinery. Passed five more parties of people in the late morning and early afternoon.
    Read more