Satellite
Show on map
  • Snowdon ascent check point 33

    June 20, 2022 in Wales ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    From Pont Bethaina (Bethania bridge) began ascent proper of Snowdon. Took 4:30 and was hard going in the blazing Sun. There was an occasional cooling breeze, sometimes quite strong, that had me wondering whether to turn my shorts back into trousers but in the end it was shorts all day. Passed about 30 people descending which was demoralising to think they had already been up and were on their way back before I had even ascended. Also passed 3 chaps working for the National Trust rebuilding the path. I had often seen examples of their work but this was the first time I had seen work underway.

    Walk was very challenging during which I had doubts about my ability and felt like turning back. I had my sister-in-law Cressetta in my head saying “don’t forget to rest” which I hadn’t and wished I had! Over came this with the mantra “yield mountain yield” which eventually it did.
    Read more