Satellite
Show on map
  • Glyder Fawr checkpoint 34

    June 21, 2022 in Wales ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    08:58 S4 bus from Beddgelert delivered me to Pen-Y-Pass in time to start walking 09:20. Route start was immediately behind the Youth Hostel which felt off effectively walking through the Hostel garden. Route began as a gentle ascent over grass, then some short rock scrambles, then once onto the ridge proper it was grass again. Although only 1.8 miles it took me 3:25, but I was not in a hurry as had plenty of time. Weather was glourious for the whole ascent. Paragliders appeared on two occasions, I suspect each was awaiting the right wind direction and strength. There also a regular buzz of a helicopter. I had noticed the helicopter from the bus, it had a 30-40’ line hanging below. I initially was concerned a mountain rescue was under way, then as the trips were regular concluded they must be training. From my vantage point on the mountain I realised they were collecting builders bags of large stones and delivering them onto a section of Snowdon. I had seen hundreds of these bags on various hillside paths.

    Glyder Fawr itself was a castleated column of rocks sticking up about 30 feet from the surroundings. I left my rucksack at the bottom for the scramble to the top.

    For regular followers of my blog I apologise for my increasingly scruffy appearance as my beard grows longer!
    Read more