Satellite
Show on map
  • Start of day 39

    June 22, 2022 in Wales ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    Had a great stay in Idwal hostel. Used Washing machine and very warm drying room that dried clothes in an hour.

    Warden Jerone was welcoming and helpful. The hostel does not provide meals but has a well appointed kitchen where I cooked one of my freeze-dry meals. It was great being able to use the dining room to eat and lounge to sit in and write blogs particularly as they sold cider!

    For this evenings camp I had planned to walk off the ridge down to a Bothy for shelter. It was beside a stream and near a lake where I could replenish water. Warden Jerone advised against the descent he said was steep over slippery grass instead suggesting I take more water and camp on the ridge beside the shelter on Foel Grach so I bought two 500ml bottles. Another 1Kg, as if I didn’t already have enough weight. He also suggested I start my walk on the road side of Llyn Ogwen (Lake Ogwen) to avoid boggy ground along the north shore of the lake. Having dried my boots keeping they dry was an idea that attracted.
    Read more