Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Continuing Explorations

    March 15, 2018 in Argentina ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    With the process of a replacement passport in process, and out of hands, it was off to continue exploring the city. I only needed to be able to check email at some point this afternoon to see if there was anything more, but other than that, my time was mine again.

    Started today with a tour of the Teatro Colon, an impressive opera house, and the orchestra was in, rehearsing for tonight's performance. Towards the end of our tour, we slipped into the auditorium, into box seats and just took in the acoustics and music. Tickets for shows are normally expensive, so getting a taster of a preview made the visit extra special.

    Then off to the metro to head to Barrio Chino aka Chinatown. Buenos Aires' Chinatown is actually really small, in fact only a few blocks, but it's packed with knick knack shops, restaurants and even supermarkets. It wasn't too hard to find with my trusty map app, and in fact even before I arrived, I walked through another neat neighborhood that I'd love to explore more another time. But getting back to Chinatown, you see the traditional gate and you head under.

    I had originally figured I'd be in and out in about half an hour, but this trippy visit caught ahold of me as I wandered store after store, even knowing there was nothing I wanted to buy. I went on a bubble tea hunt, only to learn it was only available on weekends. I stopped by the supermarket and picked up a sushi roll, presented in a way that puzzled me into I peeled back the saran wrap to discover a Pez-like manner of eating it. I heard Chinese pop songs on the radios and even found a favorite drink in the supermarket.

    An hour and a half later, back the way I came, back on the metro and off to the Rose Garden that the weather had denied me yesterday. It really is quite something to behold. The large grounds boasts a variety of roses, literally please do stop and smell the roses, as well as bridges, lakes and gazebos. Ducks and geese grace the waters and it's a popular photo spot for locals and visitors. Oh, and it's free to visit.

    Continuing on foot, I make my way to the Japanese Gardens nearby. It turned out to be quite a bit of a walk, but completely worth it. Admission is inexpensive and one really finds a sense of zen inside. It's as if the busyness of the city stops at the garden's borders. I easily wandered down paths, admiring the trees and greenery, the Asian bridges and stone waterfalls. I suppose it really feels like a piece of Japan - I've never been but one day.

    The gardens ready to close and I hop a bus back to the hotel for a break before venturing out tonight. I've got a ticket for Teatro Ciego - Sonada 360 tonight, a sound only theatre experience in what you could call a theatre of the blind. My local friend had helped me secure a ticket yesterday (and traveller's tip, they have advanced sales and discounted sales just like New York).

    The theatre is a few stops away on the Metro and not too hard to find, though the side street it was located on was a bit dark and the theatre was a lot smaller than I imagined. For the 830pm show, there were only 9 of us. One of the reasons I picked this particular performance was because there was no dialogues, very handy for visitors who don't speak too much Spanish. The intro in the lobby was in Spanish, but we managed fine.

    Heading in to the theatre was the beginning of quite the experience. I haven't been to restaurant like Dark Table (where you eat dinner in pitch black) but I'd seen the movie "When in Rome". We were led in separately, our hand on the shoulder of the person in front of us. I kid you not, it was beyond pitch black. You cannot see anything - and of course that's the point. I reach my other hand to feel for my seat and sat down. Our guide headed back for the other half of our group.

    My eyes try to adjust but there's nothing to focus on. They begin to see things, imagine things, working too hard. The show starts, the music swells and sound effects plays. I try to picture what could be happening. The performance was going well until the sound cuts out. We sit still in the room, wondering what was happening, and then our guide comes back into the room with a flashlight. The illusion now broken.

    Without spoiling it for you, I could see the room. I think that says it all. The power was out to the entire block and they had to cancel the rest of the shows that evening. We were offered tickets to come back, but as I was leaving in two days, and the illusion broken, I was able to offer them to my friend so she could visit for a play. I was definitely a little disappointed the show couldn't go on, but it allowed me some night photo time around the Obelisco and sights near by.
    Read more