Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    The Transit Continues

    July 27, 2018 in Nepal ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    The best layovers are 2-3 hours or 12+ hours. You’re either going to explore an airport (which I like doing) or get out and explore one more city (which I love doing). Both of which I get to do this time, except my 1st layover is 5 hours. Not quite enough to get out without worrying about making it back, but a little too long for my liking.

    The weather is beautiful so I do wish I had a chance to step out, even if it is 31 outside. It feels a bit weird checking out Hong Kong International. Perhaps I expected more and it was a bit off to be surrounded by Chinese speakers. Definitely a difference from watching tv at home.

    It took quite awhile to get our gate number and a bit of patience charging the phone as our previous plane didn’t have USB ports in the seats. Bit odd considering it was Cathay Pacific, though I last flew with them 5 years ago.

    ***second and last leg of flights, Hong Kong to Kathmandu. It’s a lunar eclipse night but the moon still gleamed white. The reflection on the water below though had the red hue. I would’ve liked a photo as we flew on but it was too mesmerizing. That and the twinkling lights of Hong Kong below.

    Arriving into Kathmandu, we boarded a bus to take us to the terminal itself. Immigration wasn’t as crazy as we were told to expect. Neither were visa photos necessary as machines did it all, except for processing payment.

    The night air was warm and a few drops of rain fell but otherwise nothing to suggest monsoon. It’s quite late as I settle into the hotel and ready myself for a 7am tour in the morning.
    Read more