Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 18

    Last Day in Nepal

    12 Ogos 2018, Mesir ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Last Day in Nepal, last day in Kathmandu. All my tour friends have departed now and I will too tonight. I have nothing planned except a quiet day of staying in, reading, watching tv and getting some writing in.

    This morning I had Nepali milk tea once more, not as good as the one from Mama’s Tea Shop at Durbar Square but that’s ok. It’s 1pm now, I’m partway through a PD James novel (after a short nap) and about to head out for lunch. Still thinking about last night’s momo’s and that I can eat them again before taking off.

    A rain storm had suddenly blown in. Not unusual in the monsoon season. Big fat drops fall hard and fast as people head on for shelter. Across the street, servers at a restaurant put away cushions from patio chairs, and a father dances with his young daughter. I watch the sky, content to just take it all in from my third floor perch.

    We’ve been incredibly lucky weather wise these past two weeks. What rain we’ve encountered has been on a travel day, partly at Everest Base Camp (and even then the clouds parted to reveal Everest at her finest). Yes we strode to our village cultural show in sari’s in the rain and even walked back to the hotel under showers last night, but we’ve had more time without rain than with.

    This current downpour is simply nature, designed to bring green to the region, relief from the heat. It settles dust in the streets and challenges our ears to distinguish between the sounds of thunder and the rumble of a motorcycle.

    There was a break in the rains this afternoon and then Mother Nature resumed her downpour on the city. A perfect cue to depart on. The rains show no sign of letting up tonight. We crawl through traffic to the airport as the rain intensifies. I won’t miss the blaring horns and chaotic traffic but I will definitely think back fondly on this adventure.
    Baca lagi