Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    The Journey To

    May 17, 2019 in Canada ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    A bit of a spontaneous go at this one. With the end of work looming and the next one unconfirmed back just back in April, I stumbled across this tour as a last minute deal. I haven't done much planning, so it's a bit of a fly by the seat of one's pants.

    My flight options were either through Amsterdam to Cape Town on KLM or through Hong Kong on Cathay. Price difference aside, I figured it would be nice to have a long layover in HK on the way back.

    The flights themselves were fine, 12 hours to HK with an empty middle seat, 12 hours to Johannesburg and then 1.5hr on a barely occupied plane to Cape Town. I had the entire row to myself! The fatigue of this journey would kick in later, barely sleeping on the plane, watched too much tv, I tried, I did. I had the thought that with 2 12 hour flights, as long as I slept on the second, I'd be fine.
    Read more