Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Taking to the Skies Once More

    October 9, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    It's been 28 months since my last trip. 28 months of being home, hunkering down as Covid spreads around the world. It's been a bit nutty not being able to go anywhere, but work's kept me busy. Things have aligned finally for a trip, if it were not for time off, being vaccinated and a majority of the people following safety protocols, I might still be at home. Nonetheless, it's nice to escape the day to day and reset, relax and find inspiration again.

    Easing into the trip, I was lucky nobody sat next to him on my first 2 flights. The last one (but also the shortest one), I didn't have that luxury. Must say, I spent most of my 6 hour Lisbon layover people watching. The numbers of people looked like they could be pre-pandemic, but what stuck out to to me was the 5% or so of folks not wearing their mask properly.

    Like pants about to fall half, these masks had slipped below the nose. Yes, the nose has become a body part that we should not see given the current mandates to wear masks. What surprised me is the number of older people who weren't donning these properly vs the young people. There were almost the same, if not more. And then there are a few who blatently did not wear a mask. I tell you, I've never moved over so fast when a maskless person sat down next to me.

    Yes, perhaps I should say something, but I tend to avoid confrontation. Perhaps a little passive agressive, I look at them and mentally challenge "dude, put your mask on".

    The journey from the airport to the city for those curious is quite simple. Just take the train from Aeropuerto to Malaga Central for 2 euro 30. Not busy at all. A nice way to ease back into travels.
    Read more