Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Hello Seoul

    May 3, 2023 in South Korea ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Losing a day with the time change, I'll recap my flight experience. Initially lucking out with an empty middle seat, an older Korean couple asked the lady on the aisle to switch seats, there beginning a little game of musical seats. The husband would end up in that aisle seat and his wife in the one in front of him.

    He was a funny sweet grandpa who insisted I use sesame oil and gochujang (chili paste) on my bibimbap. After declining politely, I finally gave in and added a little bit. Well, it made him proud and guess what, not as spicy as I imagined. If anything, the food needed it. Later on, he would be call me out to wipe/clean my hands before our second meal.

    The middle seat didn't stay empty for long though. His wife came to join our row as he moved over. Reason? Turns out she needed to massage his legs and feet for circulation. Propped on the pull down table, it was a weird sight, but sweet the same time. Ah love.

    With our second meal, they also got me an additional tube of gochujang from the flight attendants for me to take home. I tried to decline and ended up packing it. It looks like a tube of toothpaste but I have a funny feeling I probably will use it when I get home.
    Read more