Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Stormy Seoul

    May 6, 2023 in South Korea ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    Wind. Rain. Repeat. Keep. That was certainly the morning routine. I hid out in my hotel room for most of the morning as I listened and watched the rain blow sideways. But I knew I couldn't spend the day hiding away. My sister sent me a Michelin star restaurant nearby so I popped out to grab some bibimbap, and seafood pancake. Once again, too much food for 1 person but when I saw a lady at the table next to me doing the same and packing part of the pancake, I did the same - yes this would become breakfast the next day.

    After lunch, and some suggestions from my sister, it was time to seize the day and make the best of it. First stop, the DDP near Dongaemun, a design plaza. I wandered around but the exhibits and changed inside. I didn't spend too much time outdoors with the rain so I may need to make a return trip.

    Stop 2 - Hikr Ground, now this is a neat free space showcasing modern Korean culture. The floor the most fun was definitely the K pop video stages where you can either take photos or dance your heart out like your K pop idol would. A few floors up, there's also an interactive exhibit where you can drag your hands on the walls to make fireworks and fireflies dance as the projected video shows you certain festivals in Seoul.

    Stop 3 - the rain slows and the streets dry out. I headed to Insadong, initially for another mall-like place, but instead found myself strolling the pedestrian only street. It was nice to see the craft shops and other shopping stores.

    From there a jaunt out to Ttukseom Hangang Park, the location of an evening drone show as part of a week long festival. Quite the experience sitting with the locals as we eagerly waited for the show to start. I haven't seen this much people in one place since before Covid (ok, and the malls were quite busy yesterday as well), but everyone was in good spirits.

    The show didn't start on time, but I knew it was still on. I'm not sure if the delay might've been to the winds still blowing in the area, and the announcements were in Korean. Since no one left, I stayed put as well and was not disappointed. The show was short, but still fun.
    Read more