Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Daytrip - Incheon

    May 16, 2023 in South Korea ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    A partial day trip today to check out Incheon Chinatown and Fairy Tale World. After a slight mishap with the wrong train, I arrived. Chinatown isn't very big but it's nice to wander around to check out if you have time. To the west, there's the old port area with historic buildings and some cool cafes. To the east is Fairy Tale World where part of the neighborhood has murals and other installations depicting a young playful environment. This was a pleasant stroll around and something less usual.

    From there, I decided to take the monorail to Wolmi Island. While the amusement park wasn't open, it was still cool to see from above. The line itself is just over 6km making it the longest in South Korea.

    A little hungry at this point, I made my way to Greem Cafe in Hongdae. It's a 2D cafe that looked really cool, but unfortunately it was closed today. Oh well. I then hoofed it over to Nodeul Island, an artificial island in the middle of the Han River. While I'd intended to find the "I Seoul You" sign, I had a nice walk around half the island before finding out perhaps I was in the wrong spot and headed to Hangang Park instead.

    Locals were milling about relaxing but after some searching I still hadn't found the sign. I read it would be super obvious but no luck. Finally another google search showed that there was not only 1 sign but 27! However, they had all been taken down this February past as the city was looking for a new slogan.

    Still haven't eaten yet, but I rushed over to Ossulloc to buy some green tea. I'd missed my chance in Jeju, but fortunately Seoul had my second chances. I made it just in the knick of time and had an ice cream to boot before checking out Teddy Beure House, a cafe well known for its croissants. The place was packed though so I ended up getting it to go (and it would become breakfast tomorrow).

    Last item of the day - Seoul Tower. It's now evening but I think a good contrast to the day views from Lotte during the day. Taking the advice of other travellers and the fact that it was hot, I took the cable car instead of walking up. While there was a wait, I'm definitely glad I did that. The tower itself was another ticket, but I think this time it would've been better to save the money and just walk around the top of the hill.

    A quick stop at the night market for egg bread and dumplings before heading back to the hotel for the night.
    Read more