Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Hiking Tiger’s Nest Day 2

    June 20, 2023 in Bhutan ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    I rose early before 5 and decided to check out the scenery outside. We were told we could see a cloud blanket below us early in the morning around 530. Thankfully I went out early as the most rolled shortly after I took in the views. One of the other girls said it was a full blanket at 445 but she was feeling sick and didn’t take any photos.

    We began our descent after breakfast and light rain gave way to mist and then dryness. The hike wasn’t hard at all save for a couple of slippery spots and then the steep climb up to Tiger’s Nest itself. I was super thankful that I was able to borrow poles as it definitely made the effort easier. Some of the steps were really high so I had to use my arms quite a bit.

    The beauty of Tiger’s Nest is really incomparable to what you see in photos. In person you really appreciate the sheer cliff it is perched on and the deep gorge that you have to descend into before you ascend. Definitely the most challenging hike of the trip but we took as many breaks as needed.

    There are 4 temples in Tiger’s nest with most dedicated to the great Rinpoche who also meditated in a cave there. This site is also a pilgrimage site for Buddhists but it is hard to get to.

    Once we retraced our steps back to where we began our descent into the gorge the going was back to fairly easy descending which was good news as folks were starting to feel dizzy and light headed from fatigue, elevation and simply needing some sustenance in their system. I count myself lucky as I was ok, just tired from all the steps. We were so happy to see our bus in the car park after lunch. Did I mention some of the girls named the bus Bob?

    Back at the hotel, it was either some relaxing and showers or shopping. Before dinner we also got to watch some traditional dances by local students. It was really interesting and cool because these are normally performed during festivals.

    Tonight we had our final group dinner. As usual it was bittersweet as we bid see you layers to everyone. I’m glad we got along so well and hopefully we’ll remain connected and see each other again on future travels.

    I realize I’ve taken next to no food pictures on Bhutan. Not that the food isn’t good but it’s usually been buffet or family style where we pass the dishes around to share.
    Read more