Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    First Night in Marrakech

    May 1, 2019 in Morocco ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    It was an early start this morning - tidying up, finishing off, checking lists, house checks etc etc but then it was time to start the journey to Gatwick South Terminal for a 12.30 drop off for the car then a BA flight around 14.30. I arrived at the car park at 12.20 - perfect!

    I think this was one of the smoothest airport experiences I have ever had and in no time I was boarding and accelerating down the runway. That'd be the plane doing the accelerating of course, not me! The flight was great (I think I slept most of the way) and all of a sudden I was in Marrakech and getting into a minibus with an an extremely friendly and helpful driver who charged less than the quoted rate.

    I am staying in a Ryad somewhere in the city of Medina. Marrakech has seven cities within it so maybe we'd call it the Borough of Medina. At least I hope that's right. My Ryad is small and cosy, as many are, with a little swimming pool next to the restaurant where I ate this evening. I had chicken in a stew like sauce with olives and bread and a small plate of chips. It was really nice.

    So why am I here? Photography of course but you'll have to follow along to find out what I get up to. Tomorrow I'm staying in Marrakech and will be sleeping here again tomorrow night, then moving on. But where will it be and what will I see?

    One last thing before I rest for the night: I'm not sure what sort of access I'll get to the Internet. Here it's fast, but it may be unavailable at times so I'll update this trip as and when I get chance.

    I hope you'll persevere and enjoy another journey with me. It's always great to have you along.
    Read more